An accessible front end to Google Calendar

I’ve not written about being blind and using computers in this forum before, but I actually have something to say – my new Accessible Google Calendar (AGC) is ready and I like it. As can be appreciated, a calendar or diary is a tremendously useful thing. Not having effective (as far as I’m concerned) access to electronic calendars, and being able to share commonly used calendar mechanisms with colleagues, makes working more trying than it need be.

 

The advent of on-line calendars and so on should have made life easier, but the two-dimensional table layout of calendars/diaries makes it too much like hard work. In addition, the Web 2.0 nature of tools like google Calendar is not to my screenreader’s liking and therefore not my cup of tea. As a consequence, for many years I had to organise my diary vicariously and, as a result, badly (just due to the overheads of communication, not the people at the other end of my communications).

 

My first step along the path to a solution was a little command line gadget made for me by Simon Jupp, one of my research associates. This gadget took some arguments that scoped time and then printed out that portion of my google Calendar diary to the screen in text, which was easy for my screenreader to handle. Additions to my diary had to, of course, be done by someone else.

Dimitris Zlitidis then did my M.Sc. project on creating an accessible front end to Google Calendar and this allowed me to both read and write to my google Calendar. This project gave the design of the AGC’s user interface I describe here. I’ve been using this for many years. Google changing their calendar’s API has prompted a re-write by Nikita Abramovs, a vacation student at the School of Computer Science of the University of Manchester, and it’s this re-write I now describe.

 

The Accessible google Calendar (AGC) tool was written in C#; this has all the user interface stuff that is native to Windows, the operating system I use, so its interface is inclined to work with my screenreader JAWS immediately. I then looked at scoping and prioritising what I wanted done. There’s a lot that one can do with Google Calendar – a lot of management of calendar type stuff – who can edit the entries; inclusion of schedules of public holidays etc. I left these out. When I want them I will work with the Web version and do so vicariously as necessary. The two things I really want to do are:

 

  1. Look at entries in the portions of time that I most frequently wish to look;
  2. Add, modify and delete entries. I want to do this with access to the facilities for specifying times (all day and fragments of days) and to do recurring events.

As the “past is a foreign country”, the main things I want to do are to look at the “now” and the “future” events in my diary. So, there’s a list of simple patterns of ways in which I choose events at which to look:

 

  1. Today and tomorrow;
  2. This week and next week;
  3. This month and next month
  4. “Select month period” extends the month functionality by being able to choose months further into the future, which the option of a) single month; b) all months; c) intervening months;
  5. For the rare dates that fall outside this scope there’s a choose date dialogue where I can specify start and end days.
  6. Finally, I can use a search date for events by their content.

 

AGC’s Event Tab is shown here:

 

Figure 1An image of AGC’s Events tab showing a week’s events and the various controls for selecting events; details are in the rest of the text.

 

Events are shown as a simple list that I can move up and down with my cursor key. Unconfirmed events are indicated by a “*” at the start of the entry. I can update events by clicking (pressing return) on the event, which brings up an update event dialogue (similar to the add event dialogue described below). There’s a settings tab that allows me to specify things like: Showing end times; 12 or 24 hour clock; separators for parts of dates (space, slash or dash); and some sounds or text to indicate errors.

 

AGC’s add date functionality is a moderately complex dialogue, but it flattens out any two-dimensional calendar presentation from which to pick dates. Nearly everything is done via little spin boxes that let me pick years, months and days via my cursor keys. As I fix the start time, the end time dialogue keeps track, defaulting to one hour later, to reduce the amount of “setting” I have to do. Checkboxes for whole day events limits the interaction to setting the day date and a recurring events checkbox exposes dialogue for setting for how long the recurring holds and on which days the recurring event happens. Finally the dialogue allows me to set a reminder time and whether or not the event is confirmed. There’s also an “add quick event” tab that lets me use Google’s controlled natural language for setting dates – “Dinner with Isaac Newton 7 p.m. next Friday” does as it says on the tin. There’s a menu of template CNL sentences from which to pick.

The Add Event tab, showing the recurring events bit, is shown here:

 

Figure 2An image of AGC’s Set events tab showing an event that recurs weekly from September to December

 

I’ve used the original version of AGC for several years and it’s been a vital tool. Dimitris and I got the user interface more or less right and Nikita’s re-write and update has made it even better. I rarely need to get outside intervention in my diary setting and the view events tab has a nice regularity, symmetry and simplicity about it that I rather like. I rarely use the choose date and search functions (though they are nice to have for the odd occasion); just having today, tomorrow, this week, next week, this month and next month does it for me nearly all the time. The user interface, having been used for years, has had lots of testing and, while the user base is not extensive (me), it does all that I need to do on a frequent and regular basis. It’s good that Google have exposed the API to their calendar. Ideally I’d like the Web offering of their calendar to work well for me, but I need to do my diary now and AGC is my solution.

 

The AGC installer can be downloaded from

https://github.com/TheOntologist/AGC/releases. There is a short readme file with a description of AGC functionality and how to install it can be found at: https://github.com/TheOntologist/AGC/blob/master/README.md

Leave a Reply

